Invisible

Invisible

 

As I lay me down to sleep

I think of the distant past

Words in my ears ring of hate

“Look at how you’ve changed”

Fresh face so very young

Heart and soul much more aged

Invisible to all my peers

Shoved and knocked down

The words in my ears still ring clear

Airhead, ugly, ginger, and freckles

I keep my eyes always downcast

Not before words thrown in malice

Raised hand deflects the object

Twisting bones in the hand

I look on it all these years later

Remember a time I was invisible

The calendar is different now

The thoughts still ring true

I can walk the city streets

And no one knows who I am

Leave a Reply

