Flame

DustStorm
This image was taken by the NASA Expedition 17 crew.

Photo Credits

Flame

 

A life lived in ignorance.

Once, so long ago,

I believed myself immortal.

Nothing would ever be different.

 

Fingers graze across the table,

Rolling the match, ready to strike

With a flick of a thumbnail,

The flint transforms into flame.

 

A small light radiates, filling this space

Dominated by pieces of my life.

Paintings, writings, pens, and canvas

Strawn all over the place.

 

What am I doing with my days?

What do I want to see before I die?

Fingers float above the flame,

The pain slight from its kiss.

 

Pinching the flame between my fingers,

I am here but for a little while.

Faced with the reality of mortality,

Desire to strike more flames lingers.

~S. Reed

 

Written for the Daily Prompt – Dust in the Wind 

 

2 thoughts on “Flame

  1. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was
    wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get
    guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously
    appreciated!

  2. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

