Rule Breaker

Memories3

 

Once in a great while, you meet someone you just connect with.  There is no rhyme or reason to it, you didn’t grow up together. In fact, you grew up miles apart and have no common geographic ground.

I moved over two hundred miles away from my home town to start a new life with my (then) boyfriend and (now) husband. The guy in the picture is Otey and my bff. What’s more amazing is that my husband, Gary, completely respects our friendship and doesn’t bother him that I happen to have a guy bff. I’m truly bless in that respect.

But the beginnings of our friendship was unexpected. It just happened.

I’m painfully introverted. I don’t go out of my way to make close friends with people but that’s not to say I’m uncouth. I’m shy, quiet, and will say hi but the trust doesn’t come easy. In fact, I made that rule up a long time ago.

“Don’t get too close to people. Smile, say hi, and wish them well.”

introverts

For 23 years, I kept a select few close to me – namely, my brother, parents, and a high school friend named Brad. I liked to spend my time drawing, writing stories or poetry, and just losing myself in my own mind.

That was until I started working at Wal-Mart on the overnight shift back in 2005. I met this guy threatening me with that evil straw. He broke that rule.

The rebel.

He was tasked with training me how to stock shelves properly for my first week and when I busted a bag of sugar on the baking aisle, turned around and started to do a snoopy dance in my confusion – we just clicked.

snoopy-dancing-with-rabbits-o

My awkward goofiness appealed to this human male.

Since then, he hasn’t left and doesn’t get scared when I do open up my heart sometimes when I get a bit depressed. If I’m off my center, he helps put me back on track. We can talk about nothing for two hours but then, put us in a Chinese restaurant, we start talking about life, time travel, and the potential for parallel universes. Then, just as quick as that starts, we talk in fake accents in Lowe’s to describe the way we’re remodeling our bathroom.

Yeah. We’re kind of random.

sassyllama

Like this photo, we just do stuff as we feel it. We don’t hold back and we can be ourselves. It’s a freeing experience that even an introvert like myself can enjoy from time to time.

~S. Reed

3 thoughts on “Rule Breaker

  1. Random strangers turning into best friends and gradually into lovers- that’s only happens to a lucky few !
    Also, reading this makes me feel you guys must make an awesome couple, what with your quirky personalities ( there just aren’t enough people in the world doing the snoopy dance! the world needs people like you 😉 )

    1. Aww thank you so much for your comment! I still do the Snoopy dance randomly when the moment strikes. lol
      The guy though is only my best friend (BFF = Otey) but not my husband. I’m blessed to have a husband (Gary) that understands that my bff happens to be a guy, though. If that makes sense.

      Gary’s an understanding man and respects (at times admires) that – which Otey’s wife does as well.

      I hope you had a great day and thanks again for stopping by my little corner of the internet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

