An extra 60 minutes… Does it matter?

In the course of this day alone, I have written three poems (Father Time, Dreams, and The Wordsmith)  and one work of flash fiction (Revenge!). I’ve had so many thoughts going through my head, as it happens, because my muse – she hounds me until I’ve written what she says I should.

It’s not really a burden nor am I complaining. If you’ve been following me for awhile, you know I’ve got two poetry books already available on Kindle and working on my first novel. Time does fly and I do, often times, wonder what I’d do if I had more of it.

You see, there’s another side to me.  The non-poetry writer wordsmith side.

I love to draw. And paint. And use spray paint to make art. Give me a piece of charcoal from a grill and a piece of cardboard and I’d draw something from it. But to pin-point some of my actual passions, I’ll give you a bit of a list.

1.) I love Anime (just started watching Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood on Netflix). I’ve drawn many figures over the years of different characters.

2.) Being that I’m into Doctor Who and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, I’m a bit into space type things. My love for aliens has gone way back to the “Mork and Mindy” days.

Nanu Nanu!

Which leads us to the second form of artistic expression:  Spray Paint Art. It’s fast-paced and it gets my ideas out before they go away.

For example, this piece was at a recent Art Show I completed for a customer. She wanted planets, with a moon, done in blue tones. Her request led to this and she loved it.

004

3.)I also paint actual portraits of people and pets. I finished this one for my cousin’s graduation gift.

Painting of my Cousin for Graduation
Painting of my Cousin for Graduation

My best friend and his wife wanted their pets on their wall, so that led them to commission me for their three animal companions.

wallphoto

Now you know a bit more about me – what makes me tick.  Speaking of ticking, back to the question. And perhaps the answer will make more sense now.

What would I do with an extra hour?

I would devote it to my artwork. If it were a pretty day, I’d go outside with my spray cans and paint some planets.

SRA7

If it were cold, I’d stay in to draw or paint – whichever I happen to fancy at the time.

When you’re creating a piece of art, time does matter. The time you put into a piece differentiates between a simple circle to a bird.

I draw for a number of reasons but the top three have to be:

1.) Peace – I don’t have to worry if what I’m doing is wrong or right. I just do. No thinking, no worries.

2.)Expression – In every piece I do, I leave a part of myself behind. Will it stand the test of time? Who knows but I got to try.

3.) Happiness – When I’ve got my supplies out and my subject to paint, I’m completely in my zone. I turn on my music and mix my colors or the side of my pencil shade. Being productive makes me happy.

If you’d like to check out my Facebook page, I shall place the link right ….about….. here.

Thanks so much for dropping by my blog and hope you have a fantastic week.

~Susan.

 

Bonus: I normally listen to Stevie Ray Vaughan when I work on a new piece.

 

2 thoughts on “An extra 60 minutes… Does it matter?

Leave a Reply

