Good Enough

On the other side of my door –

Where anything can happen –

Never knowing what’s in store,

Finding safety inside has become habit.

 

Heartbeat racing as I prepare for the day,

Hoping I can face the people I meet

And ready myself for what they say –

Their words could be bitter or sweet.

 

Swallowing hard, running a brush through my hair –

I give myself a practice smile, looking above

And say to myself a silent little prayer,

“I hope I’ve made myself look good enough.”

 

A small pep in my step and keeping my chin up,

People greeting me warmly with a wave.

Feeling my confidence starting to buildup,

I loosen my hands as I become more brave.

 

Tilting my head and squinting my eyes,

Hearing snickers and seeing pointing fingers…

They’ve seen passed my guise.

Though I quickly retreat, their words lingers.

 

“She’s so ugly with such a pig’s nose

And her hair is thinning on top.”

Unable to help it, my body froze;

Mechanically, forcing the tears to stop.

 

Somehow, I found myself back to safety,

And locked the door to sit in my room.

Wishing a reprieve from ridicule was hasty –

Maybe tomorrow won’t be filled with doom.

 

With a deep sigh, I look at a photo of my Mom

And then take a look in the mirror.

Memory of her and her smile keeps me calm –

Bitter words of before, she would beg to differ.

 

© Susan Moore


Just going to leave this Music Video here…

Leave a Reply

