Daily Prompt: New Sensation

Daily Prompt: New Sensation

Ah, sweet youth. No matter whether you grew up sporting a fedora, penny loafers, poodle skirts, bell-bottoms, leg-warmers, skinny jeans, Madonna-inspired net shirts and rosaries, goth garb, a spikey mohawk, or even a wave that would put the Bieber to shame, you made a fashion statement, unique to you. Describe your favorite fashions from days of yore or current trends you think are stylin’. Photographers, artists, poets: show us FAD.

Crazy Hazy

A child born in the eighties

Growing up  in the nineties

Times were crazy and hazy

I never went to many parties.

Now, I’m well into my thirties,

I can’t help but take a look back

My mind had fewer worries

My garb mostly black.

My favorite thing to wear?

A pair of black laced boots,

A tye dye shirt

With baggy black pants.

The first day I wore my outfit,

I walked into the school

Rewarded with looks that scream you’re a misfit

Oh, dear. Have I broken the golden rule?

I find myself, even now,

When I buy a pair of jeans

Checking the ankle cuff,

Avoiding the skinny jean scene.

 

And just because I adore the New Sensation prompt…. I can’t resist. Enjoy.

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: New Sensation

Leave a Reply

