Adulthood, Blogging, Depression, Love, Memories, Moral, People, Poetry, Wordpress, Writing, Writing 101

Warrior

The hands on the clock keep ticking,

The pain in my heart still there

All the more reason to keep kicking

Face fear in the eye with a glare

 

Every moment has led me right here

All the times my heart was broken

Still haven’t caused me to disappear

And the words I need to say will be spoken.

 

Whether it’s my own mind that lied

Or the forked tongue of one I trusted,

The tears I cried will be dried

And pick myself up to be readjusted.

 

I’ve come too far to stop now

And a long way to go still

Because I will keep my vow

All of this won’t break my will.

 

I still have a burning bright fire

I hold the torch, my own flame’s carrier –

I am not just a survivor –

I am a warrior.

 

© Susan M. Moore

 

It’s been a very long time since I’ve written a new poem. Been away taking care of a lot of things and fighting through my depression. I’ve come a long, long way since my depression started all the way back in 2014 and the divorce in 2016.

I’ll take progress over perfection.

Always.

Much love to you all,

 

Susan Moore

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.