Election 2012: Why am I worried?

 

Last night, I did not abandon my procrastination ways and waited to leave the house exactly a quarter till the Voting Polls closed. I am not ashamed, I voted for Barack Obama because I feel that he is the best choice. I am highly aware that not everyone will agree with my viewpoint on the matter but that is fine because that is what makes this country so great. We happen to have a choice on who we want to vote in as President. However, don’t mistake this into thinking that I agree with everything that comes out of his mouth. I do think he is trying his best and I do have hope that he will do the right thing by this country and will see us through these times we are in at the moment.

I am not saying I don’t like Mitt Romney. I don’t know him on a personal level but I just couldn’t put my vote on him to be our leader. I have my reasons. I will say that his concession speech was actually quite graceful and more than I expected. I was very pleasantly surprised and I wish him well.

On to the point of this particular blog. I am worried after the voting. Why? I have since re-activated my Facebook account and to see the horrible, atrocious, and malevolent things that were posted about our President left one nasty taste in my mouth. The names in which some people called him, his supporters, and the ill wishes that were bestowed upon them was very disgusting. I am disgusted after last night’s election. Not because of Obama being our President for another four years but by the statements that were made and some of these people are/were my “friends”.

Romney bowed out and conceded gracefully and I wish I could say the same about the people that posted the things they did last night. I understand that when the person you want to win doesn’t, you get upset and angry. However, that does not give you the right to want someone to “die” and “sickness and harm” come to them. I’d imagine that these individuals didn’t take losing games as a child very well. The sad thing about this, a lot of them deem themselves “Christian”.

Yes, I am a Christian but last night I was the one who was ashamed. I was ashamed that the people that profess their love to Jesus could display such hatred and contempt for their fellow man simply because of an election result. I imagine that this will go in and out of the ears of whoever reads this and happens to disagree with me. If you go about trying to “hex” me or “pray that bad will fall upon me”, I have this to say to you.

I am sorry you feel that way but I won’t stoop to that level now or ever. I wish you well and I sincerely pray that you have a change of heart and learn to accept that people are going to disagree with you. We all have a choice in this life and your choice right now is, to either take your losses and go with the flow or continue to have hate and malice in your heart. I truly hope that the people that have those feelings will change and quite soon.

When it’s all said and done, we are all God’s children and the last I checked, He is the one that is going to either damn my soul to Hell or have me with Him in Heaven. I don’t like being judged by a human that is just as much a sinner as myself.

As President Obama said last night:

Now, we will disagree, sometimes fiercely, about how to get there. As it has for more than two centuries, progress will come in fits and starts. It’s not always a straight line. It’s not always a smooth path. By itself, the recognition that we have common hopes and dreams won’t end all the gridlock or solve all our problems or substitute for the painstaking work of building consensus and making the difficult compromises needed to move this country forward. But that common bond is where we must begin.

 

Let’s not forget that we all love this country so much and start treating each other with respect, compassion, and love.

Thanks for reading and hope that you are all doing well, healthy, and happy.

~Susan

P.S. Breathe in the peace, breathe out the hostility.

2 thoughts on “Election 2012: Why am I worried?

  1. I too cannot understand such hostility. I really, really can’t. I guess maybe I should be glad about that! 🙂 Thanks for this post and for your good attitude.

Leave a Reply

