Without A Trace

Could I have a moment of your time?

It won’t take long, I promise,

The question is fresh on my mind

And I’d love it if you would be honest.

 

The space between the mind and heart

Doesn’t seem to be that much space –

But love can cause all wisdom to depart

As my heart beats faster in my lover’s embrace.

 

With these emotions coursing rapidly,

My mind and heart seem to be at war.

Yet, the object of affection leaves me in agony –

Someone that my soul truly does adore.

 

I know, I said that this wouldn’t take long –

With your permission, I’ll pick up the pace –

Why is it that when I try to remain headstrong,

Love can make all wisdom disappear without a trace?

 

© Susan Moore

Leave a Reply

