I Go Back

Music tickles my ear

Gentle like a soft feather

Memories start to appear

All my years, coming together.

 

Life so long ago, lost to the wind

Trying to hold on to sixteen.

Time has other plans as it sends

Me to scene after scene.

 

Heartache after my first loss.

Wind in my hair, driving my Chevy.

Taste of chicken and barbecue sauce.

Relaxing in the sand with family.

 

My love saving me of the depression,

Friend’s integrity – purity, never does he lack.

All the memories I’m in possession,

Sends me to another time as I go back.

 

© Susan Reed

The song that takes me back, igniting so many emotions and feelings I’ve had over the last 3 decades, is this “I Go Back” by Kenny Chesney.

This poetry and post was written in response to today’s Daily Prompt: Always Something There To Remind Me. 

Leave a Reply

